Hi everyone i saw this today in Maplins for £2.99 i thought it would come in handy to check bulbs where the uv deteriorates over time. have a look and see what you think i dont mind if you think it was a waste of money, please tell me it was only £2.99 so not too bothered.
http://www.test-meter.co.uk/products/env...est-meter/
Thanks

Well if it works Wendy it will be brill. The only uvb meters I have seen in use have been well over £100. Martin from tortoise nutrition will be the guy to ask.
If you speak to him will you ask i wouldn't know how to contact him

It takes readings and gives a read out on the uv index unfortunately for me i cant find what it should be for tortoises!! lol i just wanted to check to see if and when a bulb would need replacing.

Thanks Sue you are a star

I tried to join tortoise nutrition last night as ive had problems in the past with yahoo groups the same is still happening and i couldn't get on

(02-08-2010 11:18 AM)Wendy Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks Sue you are a star
I tried to join tortoise nutrition last night as ive had problems in the past with yahoo groups the same is still happening and i couldn't get on 
You need to have a yahoo ID first Wendy so if still having problems give me a shout and I will help. Tortoise nutrition was set up to dispell a lot of the 'myths' for want of a better word that were going around re what was and was not good for torts, following a lot of misinformation going around at the time by some self appointed experts - it's def worth a look.
Below is the info I was given re the meter you were looking at, hope it helps:
I haven't heard of this one, Sue, and I suspect if it were any good it
would have been mentioned on the UVB Meter Owners group I am a member of.
As far as I know the only reliable and affordable UVB meters are the
Solarmeters, and the 6.2 model is the best for our purposes. Darren
sells them at:
http://www.kimbosreptileworld.co.uk/sola...p-159.html
That's odd Wendy are you using the correct ID and password? Go into yoru freecycle account and check the ID is the same - sounds obvious I know but sometimes they have been known to switch email address's to a different one that you submitted. I have an old email address, a yahoo one and my aol address showing as possibles when I check out my membership.
Another thing to try is to go to the freecycle homepage and click on the yahoo groups sign then add tortoisenutrition (all one word) where it says to look for groups and then go in that way. You might have to wait for approval and they may ask for a mail to prove you are not a spammer - good luck.
Hi ya, got on now i was using wrong ID, trust me

Thanks for the tip Sue
